Canadian AcSB Chair Linda Mezon-Hutter appointed to International Accounting Standards Board

  • IFRS - IASB Image

May 26, 2022

On May 26, 2022, the Trustees of the IFRS Foundation announced the appointment of Linda Mezon-Hutter and Robert Uhl as IASB Board members. Their appointments are for a five-year term starting in September 2022. In addition, three Board members have been reappointed for a second three-year term.

Ms. Mezon-Hutter has served as a member, Vice-Chair and ultimately Chair of the Canadian Accounting Standards Board (AcSB). She has also served on the IASB’s Accounting Standards Advisory Forum. Before joining the AcSB, Mezon-Hutter served as the Chief Accountant at Royal Bank of Canada.

Mr. Uhl has served as a Partner and National Director for Accounting Standards at Deloitte in the United States. He was also a member of the IFRS Interpretations Committee and the US Financial Accounting Standards Board’s (FASB) Emerging Issues Task Force. In addition, he has served as a Professional Accounting Fellow at the Office of the Chief Accountant at the US Securities and Exchange Commission.

Nick Anderson, Jianqiao Lu and Ann Tarca have been reappointed to serve a second, three-year term. Mr. Anderson's and Mr. Lu’s second terms start September 1, 2022, whereas Ms. Tarca’s second term starts on July 1, 2022.

Review the press release on the IFRS Foundation's website also notes that Mary Tokar’s second term has been extended from June 30 to August 31, 2022.

Correction list for hyphenation

These words serve as exceptions. Once entered, they are only hyphenated at the specified hyphenation points. Each word should be on a separate line.