This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our cookie notice ( for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.
The full functionality of our site is not supported on your browser version, or you may have 'compatibility mode' selected. Please turn off compatibility mode, upgrade your browser to at least Internet Explorer 9, or try using another browser such as Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

SASB Foundation appoints inaugural members to SASB

  • SASB (Sustainability Accounting Standards Board) Image

May 11, 2017

On May 11, 2017, the SASB Foundation, responsible for the funding and oversight of the Sustainability Accounting Standards Board (SASB), announced the appointment of nine inaugural members to the SASB.

Established in 2011, the Sustainability Accounting Standards Board (SASB) is an independent standards-setting organization dedicated to enhancing the efficiency of the capital markets by fostering high-quality disclosure of material sustainability information that meets investor needs. The mission of the SASB is to maintain sustainability accounting standards that help public corporations disclose material information to investors in SEC filings, such as the Forms 10-K, 20-F, and 40-F, in a cost-effective and decision-useful manner. The SASB maintains standards for 79 industries, focusing on sustainability-related factors that are reasonably likely to have financially material impacts.

Established in 2017, the SASB Foundation is responsible for the financing, oversight, administration and appointment of the SASB.

According to the SASB’s rules of procedure, the SASB consists of five to nine members who are appointed by the SASB board of directors for a term of three years, with a two-term limit. The nine inaugural members are:

  • Jean Rogers, chairman
  • Jeffrey Hales, vice-chairman
  • Verity Chegar
  • Daniel L. Goelzer
  • Robert B. Hirth, Jr.
  • Kurt Kuehn
  • Lloyd Kurtz
  • Elizabeth Seeger
  • Stephanie Tang

Review the press release and the SASB board member page on the SASB’s website.

Correction list for hyphenation

These words serve as exceptions. Once entered, they are only hyphenated at the specified hyphenation points. Each word should be on a separate line.