This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our cookie notice for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.
The full functionality of our site is not supported on your browser version, or you may have 'compatibility mode' selected. Please turn off compatibility mode, upgrade your browser to at least Internet Explorer 9, or try using another browser such as Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

EC decision on international cooperation on the supervision of auditors

  • European Union (old) Image

20 Jan 2011

The European Commission has adopted a first decision recognising the equivalence of the audit oversight systems in 10 third countries.

This decision paves the way for reinforced cooperation between Member States and third countries which have been declared equivalent, so that they can mutually rely on each others' inspections of audit firms. The countries assessed as equivalent are Australia, Canada, China, Croatia, Japan, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Switzerland and the United States of America.

The decision also grants a transitional period to auditors from 20 third countries allowing them to continue their audit activities in the EU while further assessments are carried out.

Click for EC press release (link to EC website).

Related Topics

Correction list for hyphenation

These words serve as exceptions. Once entered, they are only hyphenated at the specified hyphenation points. Each word should be on a separate line.