This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our cookie notice for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.
The full functionality of our site is not supported on your browser version, or you may have 'compatibility mode' selected. Please turn off compatibility mode, upgrade your browser to at least Internet Explorer 9, or try using another browser such as Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

IFRS Advisory Council membership update

  • IFRS Advisory Council (mid blue) Image

23 Oct 2012

The Trustees of the IFRS Foundation have announced the appointments of six new members to the IFRS Advisory Council.

The new Advisory Council members are:

  1. Mr Gavin Francis, Deputy Group Chief Accounting Officer, HSBC Holdings plc (representing the Institute of International Finance)
  2. Mr Ernesto López Mozo, Chief Financial Officer, Ferrovial S.A
  3. Mr Ricardo Piña Gutierrez, General Director of Market Supervision, Comision Nacional Bancaria y de Valores, Mexico
  4. Dr. Ghiath Shabsigh, Assistant Director, Monetary and Capital Markets Department, International Monetary Fund
  5. Ms Zinga Venner, Manager of the Financial Reporting and Analysis Unit, World Bank
  6. Mr René van Wyk, Head of Bank Supervision and Registrar of Banks, South African Reserve Bank (representing the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision)

The new members will replace retiring members Simon Bradbury, Judith Downes, Patrice Marteau, Sylvie Matherat, Kenneth Sullivan and Will Widdowson as of 1 January 2013.

In addition, Dr. Christoph Hütten has been appointed as Vice-Chairman of the Advisory Council, replacing Patrice Marteau.

In accordance with the IFRS Foundation Constitution, Advisory Council members are appointed for an initial term of three years and, depending upon the need to maintain a proper balance and for continuity, may be asked to remain for a further period of up to three years. A maximum period of service of six years is permitted.

Click for:

Related Topics

Correction list for hyphenation

These words serve as exceptions. Once entered, they are only hyphenated at the specified hyphenation points. Each word should be on a separate line.