This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our cookie notice for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.
The full functionality of our site is not supported on your browser version, or you may have 'compatibility mode' selected. Please turn off compatibility mode, upgrade your browser to at least Internet Explorer 9, or try using another browser such as Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

EFRAG Technical Expert Group (TEG)


The Technical Expert Group (TEG) of the European Financial Reporting Advisory Group (EFRAG) has the following functions:

    • Pro-active contribution to the work of IASB: Pro-active coordination of European standard setters, accounting profession, users and preparers so as to contribute to and influence the IASB standard setting process efficiently. The mechanism should normally provide the IASB with submissions on any discussion paper or exposure draft issued by the IASB or IFRS Interpretations Committee. It would also contribute to the development of technical and conceptual papers on emerging topics that would be brought to the attention of the IASB.
    • Initiating changes to the EU Accounting Directives: To help the Commission in their assessment of possible non-conformity of an IAS or SIC with EU Accounting Directives and recommending appropriate changes to the Directives.
    • Technical assessment of the IASB standards and interpretations: Making a recommendation to the European Commission regarding acceptance or rejection of an IASB standard or interpretation for application in the EU.
    • Implementation guidance: Identification of issues for which the IASB general interpretation guidance (that is, Interpretations) is not sufficient to ensure consistent application of a given standard in the EU. The mechanism would communicate such situations to the IASB and urge it to identify appropriate solutions. Also, in cooperation with European securities markets supervisors, the mechanism would develop implementation guidance specifically relevant to EU listed companies.


Technical Expert Group (TEG) Members (as of 1 April 2014)

Voting members:

  • Francoise Flores, Industry, France - EFRAG TEG Chair
  • Mike Ashley, Auditor, UK, Vice-Chairman
  • Andreas Barckow, Auditor, Germany
  • Christian Chiarasini, Auditor, France
  • Gabi Ebbers, Insurance specialist, Germany
  • Joanna Frykowska, Auditor, Poland
  • Nicklas Grip, Banking and financial instruments specialist, Sweden
  • Araceli Mora, Professor, Spain
  • Serge Pattyn, User, Belgium
  • Andrea Toselli, Auditor, Italy

Non-voting members:

  • Liesel Knorr - Deutscher Standardisierungsrat (German standard setter)
  • Jerome Haas - Autorité des Normes Comptables (French standard setter)
  • Roger Marshall - UK Accounting Standards Board
  • Angelo Caso - Organismo Italiano di Contabilità (Italian standard setter)

Technical Expert Group meetings

The EFRAG Technical Expert Group (TEG) is coordinating the dates of its meetings with those of the IASB, generally holding meetings (which are open to public observation) during the week preceding the IASB Board meeting, normally in Brussels). For one day each quarter, the TEG meets with the European national standard setters.


Correction list for hyphenation

These words serve as exceptions. Once entered, they are only hyphenated at the specified hyphenation points. Each word should be on a separate line.