This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our cookie notice for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.
The full functionality of our site is not supported on your browser version, or you may have 'compatibility mode' selected. Please turn off compatibility mode, upgrade your browser to at least Internet Explorer 9, or try using another browser such as Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

New SEC chairman confirmed by Senate

  • SEC (US Securities and Exchange Commission) Image

May 04, 2017

The Senate has confirmed Walter J. “Jay” Clayton III as chairman of the SEC.

Mr. Clayton was nominated by then-President-elect Donald Trump on January 4, 2017. Mr. Clayton replaces acting chairman Michael Piwowar, who has led the SEC since Mary Jo White’s resignation in January 2017. Mr. Clayton’s term will end on June 5, 2021.

Mr. Clayton was sworn in on May 4, 2017, by U.S. Supreme Court Justice Anthony M. Kennedy, officially becoming the 32nd chairman of the SEC.

For more information, see the press release on the SEC's Web site.

Correction list for hyphenation

These words serve as exceptions. Once entered, they are only hyphenated at the specified hyphenation points. Each word should be on a separate line.