This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our cookie notice for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.
The full functionality of our site is not supported on your browser version, or you may have 'compatibility mode' selected. Please turn off compatibility mode, upgrade your browser to at least Internet Explorer 9, or try using another browser such as Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

FASB Board membership

FASB Board requirements


The FASB currently has seven full-time Board members, of whom one is appointed as chairman. FASB members are appointed for an initial term of five years, renewable for one additional five-year term. The Board is supported by a 60+ person staff.



To ensure the impartiality and independence of the FASB, members are required to sever all ties to previous firms and institutions that they served before joining the FASB. The FASB’s oversight body, the Financial Accounting Foundation (FAF), has also implemented policies about personal investments and other personal activities, designed to prevent potential conflicts of interest.


Board member qualifications

The main qualification for membership is professional competence and practical experience. The group is required to represent the best available combination of expertise in investing, accounting, finance, business, accounting education, and research.

Current FASB members

The Board current members are (with current term end dates indicated):

Russell Golden, Chairman (2020)

Russ GoldenMr. Golden was appointed to the FASB in September 2010, and reappointed to a second, five-year term effective July 1, 2012. Mr. Golden was appointed as chairman effective July 1, 2013, when he succeeded Leslie F. Seidman. Before joining the FASB as a senior technical advisor in 2004, he was a partner in Deloitte & Touche LLP. In July 2007, Mr. Golden was appointed director of technical application and implementation activities for the FASB. From 2008 to September 2010, he was the technical director of the FASB and chaired the FASB’s Emerging Issues Task Force (EITF).


James Kroeker, Vice Chairman (2018)

Jim KroekerMr. Kroeker was appointed as a member and vice chairman on September 1, 2013. His role as vice chairman is to assist the FASB chairman in representing the Board to external stakeholders and in conducting its internal operations. Before his FASB appointment, Mr. Kroeker served as the deputy managing partner for professional practice at Deloitte. In addition, he served as the chief accountant of the SEC from January 2009 to July 2012.


Christine Ann Botosan (2021)

Christine BotosanMs. Botosan was appointed to the FASB in July 2016. Before joining the Board, she served as a professor of accounting at the David Eccles School of Business at the University of Utah, where she had also previously served as a leadership fellow in the office of the vice president and as the George S. and Dolores Dore Eccles Presidential Chair in Ethical Financial Reporting.


Gary R. Buesser (2023)

Gary BuesserMr. Buesser was appointed to the FASB effective July 1, 2018. Before becoming a Board member, Mr. Buesser was a portfolio manager/research analyst at Lazard Asset Management.



Susan M. Cosper (2024)

Susan M. CosperMs. Cosper was appointed to the FASB effective May 1, 2019. Before becoming a Board member, Ms. Hunt was the technical director and chair of the EITF.



Marsha L. Hunt (2022)

Marsha L. HuntMs. Hunt was appointed to the FASB effective July 1, 2017. Before becoming a Board member, Ms. Hunt was a Vice President and Corporate Controller for Cummins Inc.



R. Harold Schroeder (2021)

R. Harold SchroederMr. Schroeder was appointed to the FASB effective February 28, 2011. He has a background in investing and financial reporting and was a former partner with Ernst & Young. Before joining the Board, Mr. Schroeder served as a partner at Carlson Capital, L.P. and a senior equity analyst with Schroder & Company Inc. and KBW Inc. In addition, he has worked as the chief financial officer at Nacional Financiera, SNC (primary development bank for the Mexican government). Mr. Schroeder was also a member of the FASB's Emerging Issue Task Force (EITF) from 2008 to 2011, and a member of the Standing Advisory Group for the PCAOB from 2008 to 2010.

Correction list for hyphenation

These words serve as exceptions. Once entered, they are only hyphenated at the specified hyphenation points. Each word should be on a separate line.