Six new International Education Standards from IFAC

  • IFAC (International Federation of Accountants) (lt gray) Image

28 Oct 2003

The International Federation of Accountants (IFAC) has released six International Education Standards (IESs) that establish the global benchmarks for education and development for professional accountants.

Developed by IFAC's Education Committee, the standards prescribe the essential elements of education to become a professional accountant and the ongoing education requirements necessary to remain competent. All IFAC member bodies are expected to comply with the standards effective 1 January 2005. The six standards may be downloaded from IFAC's Website. Their titles are:
  • IES 1, Entry Requirements to a Program of Professional Accounting Education
  • IES 2, Content of Professional Accounting Education Programs
  • IES 3, Professional Skills
  • IES 4, Professional Values, Ethics and Attitudes
  • IES 5, Practical Experience Requirements
  • IES 6, Assessment of Professional Capabilities and Competence

Correction list for hyphenation

These words serve as exceptions. Once entered, they are only hyphenated at the specified hyphenation points. Each word should be on a separate line.