Deloitte partner is the new chair of EFRAG

  • efrag.gif Image

23 Jan 2004

Deloitte & Touche partner Stig Enevoldsen has been selected as the new full-time Chairman of the Technical Expert Group (TEG) of the European Financial Reporting Advisory Group (EFRAG) effective 1 April 2004 for a three-year term.

Stig currently heads Deloitte's Copenhagen, Denmark, IFRS Centre of Excellence and is a member of the firm's Global IFRS Leadership Team. Previously, he chaired the firm's IAS Policy Committee. From 1987 to 1996 Stig Enevoldsen was a member of the Danish Accounting Standards Committee, serving as its chairman from 1991-1996.

Stig was a member of the Board of the International Accounting Standards Committee from 1991 to 2000, and was the IASC chairman from 1998 to 2000. Currently he is a member of both the TEG and the IASB's Standards Advisory Council.

Also, Deloitte partner Catherine Guttman, from France, a specialist in insurance and financial instruments issues, was appointed a new part-time member of the TEG. In addition, The chairs of the UK, French, and German standard setters will be permanent observers at the TEG.

EFRAG was established in June 2001 by a broad group of organisations representing the European accounting profession, preparers, users, and national standard-setters to provide technical expertise to the European Commission concerning the use of IFRS within the Europe and to participate in IASB's standard setting process. EFRAG is currently in the middle of a process to Enhance its Role and streamline its operating processes with the goal of strengthening European input to the IASB.

Click for EFRAG Press Release (PDF 31k).


Correction list for hyphenation

These words serve as exceptions. Once entered, they are only hyphenated at the specified hyphenation points. Each word should be on a separate line.