Standards Advisory Council is restructured

  • SAC (Standards Advisory Council) (mid blue) Image

17 Oct 2005

The Trustees of the IASC Foundation have announced the membership of the restructured Standards Advisory Council (SAC). The 40 appointments represent the third step taken by the trustees to make the SAC a more effective source of advice both to the Trustees and to the IASB.

Previous steps were the appointment of Nelson Carvalho of Brazil as the SAC's independent chairman and the adoption of terms of reference for the restructured SAC. SAC members and observers are listed below. Two Deloitte partners are included: Ingebret Hisdal, Managing Partner, Deloitte Norway, and Adir Inbar, Senior Audit Partner, Deloitte Israel. Click for Press Release (PDF 61k).

Membership of the Standards Advisory Council


  • Benoit Antoine Atangana Onana, President, Institute of Chartered Accountants of Cameroon; Senior Partner and General Manager, African Consulting Enterprise
  • Darrel Scott, Financial Officer, FirstRand Bank Limited, South Africa Asia-Oceania


  • Judith Downes, Chief Operating Officer, Institutional Division, ANZ Bank


  • Wang Jun, Secretary-General, China Accounting Standards Committee, Ministry of Finance, China
  • PM Kam, Group Financial Controller, Jardine Matheson Ltd., Hong Kong SAR


  • Shailesh Haribhakti, Managing Partner of Haribhakti & Co., and CEO of Haribhakti Group


  • Eiko Tsujiyama, Professor, Waseda University
  • Yoshiki Yagi, Board Director and Chairman of the Audit Committee, Hitachi


  • Suk-Jun Lee, Executive Director, Samsung Economic Research Institute

South-East Asia

  • Rifaat Ahmed Abdel Karim, Secretary-General, Islamic Financial Services Board
  • Danny Teoh, Managing Partner, KPMG Singapore Europe

European Union

  • Jose Antonio Alvarez, Chief Financial Officer, Group Santander (SCH), Spain
  • Philippe Danjou, Member, Financial Reporting Committee of the Committee of European Securities Regulators (CESR-fin); Director, Corporate Accounting, Autorite des Marches Financiers, France
  • Sarah Deans, Vice President, Corporate Research, Head of Accounting and Valuation Research, JP Morgan, United Kingdom
  • Anna di Michele Director, Products & Services - Active Advisory, UBS, Italy
  • Patrice Marteau, Chief Corporate Officer, PPR, France
  • Alberto Giussani, Partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Italy
  • Mauro Grande Director, Financial Stability and Supervision, European Central Bank
  • David Lindsell, Global Director, IFRS Services, Ernst & Young, United Kingdom
  • Heinz-Joachim Neuburger, Executive Vice President and CFO, Siemens, Germany
  • Jochen Pape, Member of the Management Board, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Germany, and Head of the International Financial Reporting Centre, PwC Continental Europe
  • Kees Storm, Former Chairman, AEGON; Director of Laurus, Pon Holdings, Inbev, KLM, AEGON, Baxter International, The Netherlands


  • Ingebret Hisdal, Managing Partner, Deloitte Norway
  • Vladimir Preobrazhenskiy, Deputy General Director for Economics and Finance, CFO, Siberian Coal Energy Company, Russia
  • Hugo Schaub, Group Controller and Member of the Group Management Board, UBS, Switzerland Latin America
  • Nelson Carvalho, SAC Chairman; Professor, University of SAo Paulo, Brazil, financial consultant and private investment banker, Brazil
  • Hector Estruga, retired partner and former Professional Practice Director for South America, Ernst & Young; currently consultant to E&Y Member, CENCYA (Special Audit and Accounting Standards Committee), Argentine Federation of Professional Councils in Economic Sciences
  • Hector Vela Dib, Corporate Financing Director, Cemex, Mexico Middle East
  • Adir Inbar, Chairman, Professional Board of the Institute of Certified Public Accountants in Israel; Professional Leader and Senior Audit Partner, Deloitte Israel North America
  • Frank Brod, Corporate Vice President and Controller, The Dow Chemical Company; Immediate Past Chairman, Committee on Corporate Reporting, Financial Executives International
  • Colleen Cunningham, President and CEO, Financial Executives International
  • Trevor Harris, Managing Director of Valuation, Accounting, and Enterprise Risk, Morgan Stanley
  • Patricia McConnell, Senior Managing Director, Bear, Stearns & Co. International organisations (with designated representatives)
  • Basel Committee of Banking Supervisors: Arnold Schilder, Executive Director, De Nederlandsche Bank
  • International Association of Insurance Supervisors: Tomoko Amaya, Chair, IAIS Accounting Subcommittee
  • International Federation of Accountants: Ian Ball, Chief Executive
  • International Monetary Fund: Kenneth Sullivan, Senior Financial Sector Expert
  • International Organization of Securities Commissions: John Carchrae, Chief Accountant, Ontario Securities Commission, Canada, and Christoph Ernst, Head of the Accounting and Auditing Law Division of the Bundesministerium der Justiz, Germany
  • United Nations Conference for Trade and Development: Tatiana Krylova, Head, Investment and Enterprise Competitiveness Branch
  • World Bank: Charles McDonough, Chief Accountant Observers
  • European Commission
  • Financial Services Agency of Japan
  • US Securities and Exchange Commission

Correction list for hyphenation

These words serve as exceptions. Once entered, they are only hyphenated at the specified hyphenation points. Each word should be on a separate line.