Trustees appoint Hans Hoogervorst to succeed Sir David Tweedie

  • hoogervorst.jpg Image

12 Oct 2010

The Trustees of the IFRS Foundation, the oversight body of the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB), today announced the appointment of Hans Hoogervorst as chairman and Ian Mackintosh as vice-chairman of the IASB.

Hans Hoogervorst will succeed Sir David Tweedie on his retirement as chairman of the IASB at the end of June 2011. He is currently chairman of the Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM), the Dutch securities and market regulator, chairman of the Technical Committee of the International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO) and co-chair of the Financial Crisis Advisory Group (FCAG), an independent body of senior leaders formed to advise accounting standard-setters on their response to the global financial crisis. He will step down from all his present positions in order to join the IASB.

Ian Mackintosh, a former chief accountant of the Australian Securities and Investment Commission, has more than 30 years experience of national and international accounting standard-setting. He is currently chairman of the UK Accounting Standards Board and chairman of the group of national accounting standard-setters, a body in which more than 20 national and regional accounting standard-setting organisations participate.

The new chairman brings a strong understanding of, and an ability to navigate through, the challenges facing the IASB on the path to global IFRS adoption. Mr. Mackintosh's significant experience in the standard-setting field will assist the IASB as it seeks to establish IFRSs as the global standard.

Biographies of Mr. Hoogervorst and Mr. Mackintosh as well as their statements concerning their firm commitment to protecting the independence of the standard-setting process and acting in the interest of investors and other stakeholders are available in the IASB's press release (PDF 34k).

Insight into Hans Hoogervorst's thinking and an interview with Ian Mackintosh is also available in our new Robert Bruce column.

Correction list for hyphenation

These words serve as exceptions. Once entered, they are only hyphenated at the specified hyphenation points. Each word should be on a separate line.