Trustees appoint Andreas Barckow to succeed Hans Hoogervorst

  • IASB (International Accounting Standards Board) (blue) Image

12 Nov 2020

The Trustees of the IFRS Foundation, the oversight body of the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB), today announced the appointment of Prof Dr Andreas Barckow as next chair of the IASB.

Dr Barckow, currently the President of the Accounting Standards Committee of Germany (ACSG), will succeed Hans Hoogervorst on his retirement as chair of the IASB at the end of June 2021.

Dr Barckow, a former Deloitte Partner, has been an active participant in numerous advisory bodies to the IFRS Foundation and the IASB, including membership of the IASB’s Accounting Standards Advisory Forum (ASAF) and the IFRS Advisory Council, and is a highly recognised expert on IFRSs at national, European and international level. He will step down from all his present positions in order to join the IASB.

A biography of Dr Barckow and statements on the appointment are available in the IASB's press release and the press release on the ACSG website.

The International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO) has published a Statement of the IFRS Foundation Monitoring Board on the appointment of Mr. Andreas Barckow as the next Chair of the IASB welcoming the appointment.

Correction list for hyphenation

These words serve as exceptions. Once entered, they are only hyphenated at the specified hyphenation points. Each word should be on a separate line.