IFRS Foundation announces four inaugural ISSB members

  • ISSB (International Sustainability Standards Board) (blue) Image

08 Jun 2022

The Trustees of the IFRS Foundation have announced the appointment of Richard Barker, Verity Chegar, Bing Leng, and Ndidi Nnoli-Edozien as ISSB Board members. Their appointments begin in July 2022 and are staggered, so that their term ends in September 2026 or June 2027.

Mr Barker is currently deputy dean and professor of accounting at Saïd Business School, University of Oxford where he leads Oxford Saïd’s sustainable business initiatives. He chairs the expert panel of Accounting for Sustainability (A4S) and has previously served as a member of several committees and bodies focused on corporate reporting in the UK and Europe.

Ms Chegar has 20 years of experience in sustainable investment and stewardship, portfolio management and investment research with both asset owner and asset manager perspectives. She is also currently serving as Co-Vice Chair of the SASB Standards Board, where she has been overseeing the development and maintenance of SASB’s industry-based standards since 2017.

Mr Leng is currently a Director in the Accounting Regulatory Department of the Chinese Ministry of Finance, where he oversees sustainability reporting initiatives, and also serves as a member of the IASB IFRS Taxonomy Consultative Group.

Ms Nnoli-Edozien has worked across multinational and indigenous companies, public institutions and civil society organisations, in Africa and Europe, to initiate sustainable development initiatives. In her last role, she served as the inaugural Group Chief Sustainability and Governance Officer of Dangote Industries Limited — one of Africa’s largest manufacturing businesses.

The press release on the IFRS Foundation's website also notes that appointments to bring the ISSB to quorum (eight members) will be announced shortly, with the aim of completing the inaugural appointments to the Board during the third quarter of 2022.

Correction list for hyphenation

These words serve as exceptions. Once entered, they are only hyphenated at the specified hyphenation points. Each word should be on a separate line.