This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our cookie notice for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.


Financial Reporting Framework in the Philippines

Accounting standards in the Philippines are adopted by the Philippines Financial Reporting Standards Council (PFRSC) and approved by the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). The PFRSC has formed the Philippine Interpretations Committee (PIC), which issues implementation guidance on PFRSs.

Publicly Accountable Entities

The PFRSC has adopted most IFRSs, in some cases with modifications, and in some cases the most recent amendments to IFRSs have not been adopted. These standards are known as Philippine Financial Reporting Standards (PFRSs) and Philippine Accounting Standards (PASs). Philippine standards apply to all entities with public accountability. That includes:

  • entities whose securities are listed in a public market or are in process of listing;
  • all financial institutions including banks, insurance companies, security brokers, pension funds, mutual funds, and investment banking entities;
  • public utilities; and
  • other economically significant entities, defined as total assets in 2004 of at least 250 million pesos (US$5 million) or liabilities of at least 150 million (US$3 million).

The modifications, which have been described as 'transition relief', include some in the following areas:

  • Reduced segment reporting disclosures
  • Exemption from applying tainting rule for a specific set of financial instruments
  • Commodity derivative contracts of mining companies as of 1 January 2005 'grandfathered'
  • Insurance companies allowed to use another comprehensive set of accounting principles (also described as Philippine Financial Reporting Standards)
  • For banks, losses from sale of non-performing assets allowed to be amortised over a period of time
  • Some additional changes to IASB's pension, foreign exchange, and leases Standards

The auditor's report refers to "conformity with Philippine Financial Reporting Standards".

Small and Medium-sized Entities

The IFRS for SMEs was adopted in the Philippines effective 1 January 2010. It is known as the Philippine Financial Reporting Standard for SMEs (PFRS for SMEs). The Philippine Securities and Exchange Commission, in its En Banc Resolution dated August 13, 2009, adopted a definition of 'small and medium-sized entities' that includes a size criterion. An entity is an SME if:

  1. The entity has total assets of between P3 million and P350 million or total liabilities of between P3 million and P250 million;
  2. It is not required to file financial statements under SRC Rule 68.1;
  3. It is not in the process of filing its financial statements for the purpose of issuing any class of instruments in a public market;
  4. It is not a holder of a secondary license issued by a regulatory agency, such as a bank (all types of banks), an investment house, a finance company, an insurance company, a securities broker/dealer, a mutual fund and a pre-need company; and
  5. It is not a public utility.
Entities below those thresholds (so-called 'micro entities') may use the PFRS for SMEs or 'another acceptable basis of accounting'. Click for:

Related news

  • Agenda for the November 2013 AOSSG meeting

  • Nov 25, 2013

  • An agenda has been released for the fifth meeting of the Asian-Oceanian Standards Setters Group (AOSSG), which is being held in Colombo, Sri Lanka on 27-28 November 2013. Representatives from many of the 26 countries which are currently members of AOSSG will attend the meeting, as will representatives from the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB). The meeting will include discussion on a number of IASB projects, consider the results of a survey conducted by the AOSSG on accounting and Islamic finance in the Middle East and North Africa, receive feedback on the IFRS implementation efforts and regional capacity building, and consider ongoing membership and process requirements.

  • More than 70 jurisdictions apply ISAs

  • Jul 11, 2011

  • On June 30 2011, Prof. Arnold Schilder, the Chairman of the IAASB, delivered a speech on global progress in the use of the Clarified International Standards on Auditing (ISAs) at the 2011 annual conference on Accounting and Accountability for Regional Economic Growth in Latin America and the Caribbean (referred to as CReCER after its Spanish/Portuguese acronym).

  • A Driving Wind for IFRS from Asia-Oceania

  • Jun 08, 2011

  • The Asian-Oceanian Standard-Setters Group (AOSSG) has published today "A Vision Paper of the Asian-Oceanian Standard-Setters Group 2011 — A Driving Wind for IFRS from Asia-Oceania".

  • Philippines has adopted the IFRS for SMEs

  • Apr 02, 2010

  • The IFRS for SMEs has been adopted in the Republic of the Philippines effective 1 January 2010. It is known as the Philippine Financial Reporting Standard for SMEs (PFRS for SMEs).

  • New Deloitte SEA e-newsletter on financial reporting

  • Sep 08, 2009

  • The Deloitte Southeast Asia (SEA) Assurance & Advisory Services Group has published the inaugural issue of a newsletter focussing on financial reporting issues from a Southeast Asia perspective.

  • Temporary SME standards in Philippines

  • Jan 09, 2006

  • The Philippines has adopted IFRSs in full as its national standards starting in 2005. However, on 22 December 2005, the Philippines Securities and Exchange Commission issued PAS 101 entitled Financial Reporting Standards For Non-Publicly Accountable Entities (NPAEs), as approved by the Accounting Standards Council, to provide temporary relief to qualified small and medium-sized entities from applying the new accounting standards.

  • Philippines' Auditing Standards and Practices Council (ASPC)

  • Oct 10, 2001

  • In an effort to establish and improve generally accepted auditing standards (GAAS) in the Philippines, the ASPC, the body authorized to establish and promulgate GAAS, is undertaking a major project to adopt International Standards on Auditing (ISAs) issued by the International Auditing Practices Committee (IAPC) of the International Federation of Accountants.